Hassan is one of the 31 districts of Karnataka, India. The district headquarter is Hassan. Hassan District contains the cities of Hassan, Arsikere, Channarayapatna, Belur, Holenarasipura, Sakleshpur, Alur and Arkalgud. The city is situated 980 m above sea level. Hassan is mainly famous for its age-old temples like Lakshmi Narsimha Temple, Kedareshwar Temple, and Hoysala Temples. They represent the history and cultures of Hassan very well.